Monday, May 27, 2024


The process for Kakamega County to clinch this year’s Miss Tourism Kenya (MTK) title has started on a high note. The dream for the county to take home the envied crown received a thumbs up on Thursday when the MTK National Director and County Coordinator Peter Karanja delivered objects for the contest to the Miss Tourism Kenya 2018 Kakamega County Chapter Stearing Committee.

In a meeting held at the boardroom of KakamegaΒ County First Lady Priscillah Oparanya, Chaired by the CECM for Trade, Industrialization and Tourism, Kassim Were, Karanja applauded the committee for being ahead of the pack on preparations for county pageant contests. The Director handed over a Tiara (Crown), 3 Sashes and 15 Certificates to the Commitee’s Patron, H.E Priscillah Oparanya, to be awarded to successful pageants at different stages of the contest.

The delighted County First Lady thanked the MTK National Office for a continued healthy intergovernmental relationship and registered her wish for Kakamega to host the MTK finals in future. She however promised a tough contest in this year’s MTK at the national llevel.

CECM Kassim Were informed the meeting that all the 12 Sub-Counties of Kakamega will stage individual contests before winners battle it out at the County headquarters. Mr. Were urged participants to pick registration forms at the County Ward Offices or to download them from the county website;Β www.kakamega.go.keΒ before 10th August. Were said the pillars for this year’s MTK-Kakamega Chapter are Flora and Fauna, Investment, Peace and Unity, Culture and Environment. He called on county residents to turn up in large numbers at their respective centers to witness, have fun and support their queens as they showcase individual beauty, art, culture and wit.

Other members of the MTK 2018 Kakamega Chapter Stearing Committee are from the Ministries of Social Services, Youth and Sports, ICT, E-Government and Communication, Chamber of Commerce – Kakamega, Youth Office – OG, County Hoteliers, and Former Kakamega Miss Tourism (2014/15).