President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed Kakamega Governor and Council of Governors (CoG) chairman H.E. FCPA Wycliffe Ambetsa Oparanya as a member of the newly constituted Covid-19 National Emergency Response Fund.

The Board will be chaired by Jane Karuku while Kennedy Kihara will be the Secretary. Governor Oparanya is a joint representative of the Government of Kenya on the Board alongside Interior Cabinet Secretary Dr. Fred Matiang’i.

Other members are, Mr. Michael Joseph, Dr. James Mwangi, Dr. Navenda Raval, Mr. Joshua Oigara, Mr. Jeremy Awori, Mr. Waruru Wachira, Mr. Mohammed Hersi and Ms Phyllis Wakiaga.

The principal objective of the fund shall be to source for emergency response resources towards containing the spread, effects and impact of the Covid-19 Pandemic in the country.

The Kakamega County boss who is also the chairman of the 14 member county Lake Region Economic block (LREB) thanked the president for the appointment terming it a great honour. He said the president’s confidence in his leadership cannot be taken for granted and promised to serve the nation diligently moreso during these tough times. He appealed to Kenyans and donors to support the fund in order to achieve its goal, particularly on cushioning the most vulnerable members of the society during the Corona virus pandemic.

WP to LinkedIn Auto Publish Powered By :